Twirl and Dip (Food truck on 335 Martin Luther King Jr Drive, San Francisco, CA 94117)

Twirl and Dip has a very special place in my heart. When I think of my favorite foods at home, I immediately think of the creamy ice cream that Twirl and Dip creates.

Located in Golden Gate Park, this food truck can have very long lines filled with visitors, so it can take a while to get your ice cream. Even though the wait is awhile, it is so worth it. As you wait, you can decide exactly what you want on your ice cream- as they have plenty of flavors and toppings to choose from- or enjoy the scenery and people watching that surrounds the truck.

Their menu has plenty of variety with quality ingredients like homemade syrups, candies, sauces, ice lollies, and sugar cones. For ice cream, you can either have their classic soft serve flavors of  chocolate, vanilla, or swirl, or you can have the San Francisco favorite, Mitchell’s ice cream scoop (Strawberry, pistachio, grasshopper pie, coffee). I personally would recommend trying their soft serve for the complete Twirl and Dip Experience.

My favorite combinations on the menu is either the swirl soft serve on a sugar cone topped with toffee and the toffee sundae. Even though these are very similar, they do have some differences. The toffee sundae includes chocolate and butterscotch sauce, almonds, whipped cream, and a cherry, but does not include a cone. For me, it depends on my mood. For example, if I want an extra special treat I go for the sundae mostly because their whipped cream is very rich yet light at the same time; it is absolutely to die for. But other times, I find it hard to resist the sugar cone: with a hint of cinnamon and the right crunch, it’s my favorite!

My mom, the person I visit this truck with the most, also likes the toffee, but sometimes gets their vanilla soft serve in a sugar cone topped with their hardening dark chocolate sea salt dip. This to me is also pretty good, and has the right amount of salt to chocolate ratio.

IMG_2457.JPG

Toffee Sundae pictured in front of the food truck.

IMG_2172

Vanilla and chocolate swirl soft serve topped with Toffee in a sugar cone and vanilla soft serve chocolate dipped with salt.

Leave a Reply

